PSL 2020: Peshawar Zalmi beat Quetta Gladiators by 30 runs

0 176

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

RAWALPINDI (City News) – Shoaib Malik s 60th T20 fifty helped Peshawar Zalmi register their third win in the 18th match of the fifth edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) in Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium.

Playing first, Zalmi posted 170 for 6 at the back of Malik s quickfire half-century and handy contributions from Kamran Akmal (12-ball 23) and Haider Ali (24-ball 39). Malik hit 8 boundaries and a six through the course of his innings.

In response, Gladiators began well with Jason Roy and Shane Watson powering them to a 45-run opening stand in only 4.4 overs. However, Zalmi s bowlers kept the carnage in control by picking wickets at regular intervals. Roy, who was looking dangerous, was bowled by Yasir Shah in the eighth over of the chase for a 26-ball 45.

Earlier, Quetta Gladiators won the toss and elected to field. The start of the match was delayed due to a wet outfield.

The big news before the start of play was that Daren Sammy officially stepped down as Peshawar Zalmi captain to take on a role as player-coach.

Sammy was left out of the XI for the second match in a row, with Wahab Riaz formally taking over as captain following his stand-in role in Zalmi s loss to Karachi Kings when it was communicated that Sammy was being rested.

Zalmi made two changes to their lineup. Imam-ul-Haq comes in at the top of the order in place of Tom Banton while Liam Dawson replaces Carlos Brathwaite for an extra spin option.

Gladiators have also made multiple changes. Ahmed Shehzad enters the lineup at in place of Ahsan Ali while a bowling reshuffle sees Anwar Ali and Fawad Ahmed left out in favor of Sohail Khan and Tymal Mills.


Peshawar Zalmi: Kamran Akmal (wk), Imam-ul-Haq, Haider Ali, Liam Livingstone, Shoaib Malik, Lewis Gregory, Liam Dawson, Wahab Riaz (capt.), Hasan Ali, Yasir Shah, Rahat Ali.

Quetta Gladiators: Jason Roy, Shane Watson, Ahmed Shehzad, Sarfaraz Ahmed (capt./wk), Azam Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Ben Cutting, Sohail Khan, Tymal Mills, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Hasnain.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More